Individuals

Apply For Individuals

The 2019-2020 Call for Individual Applications is now open!

Thank you for your interest in the NIB Trust Fund. We are accepting applications for education programs aimed at education, healing and reconciliation. Preference will be given to applicants who are former Indian Residential School students and their families.

First Nation and Métis citizens over the age of 18, with a valid social insurance number can apply for funding.

Late applications will not be accepted.

Faxed applications will not be accepted.

All applications must be typed – handwritten applications will not be accepted.

Applications must use the 2019-2020 application template – the NIB Trust Fund will not accept previous year’s application form.

Only complete, individualized applications will be evaluated and forwarded to the selection committee for consideration.

What you can apply for:

  • Scholarship – University or College Program

i.e. Bachelors, Masters, or PhD, Nursing, Law, Aboriginal Studies.

  • Bursary – Certificate or Training

i.e. Trades, Education training, Cégep, Adult Education, Professional Courses.

  • Award – Traditional and Cultural Knowledge Building

i.e. Language, Ceremonies, Healing, Life skills training

Scholarship and Bursary applications must be completed through the online application system.

The downloadable application form is only for the Award category (available here).

Do not wait until the deadline day to start your online application as we anticipate it will take up to a week to complete.

Our ability to assist you with your application may be difficult the last few weeks before the deadline, due to the high volume of telephone calls and emails.

The Individual call for applications is a highly competitive process and funding is not guaranteed.

Click here to access the online application!

DEADLINE: Friday June 7, 2019 5:00pm EDT (Eastern Daylight Time)

British Columbia (Pacific Daylight Time) PDT: 2:00pm
Alberta (Mountain Daylight Time) MDT 3:00pm
Saskatchewan (Central Standard Time) CST 3:00pm
Manitoba (Central Daylight Time) CDT 4:00pm
Ontario (Eastern Daylight Time) EDT 5:00pm
Quebec (Eastern Daylight Time) EDT 5:00pm
Nova Scotia (Atlantic Daylight Time) ADT 6:00pm
New Brunswick (Atlantic Daylight Time) ADT 6:00pm
Prince Edward Island (Atlantic Daylight Time) ADT 6:00pm
Newfoundland and Labrador (Newfoundland Daylight Time) NDT 6:30pm
Northwest Territories (Mountain Daylight Time) MDT 3:00pm
Yukon (Pacific Daylight Time) PDT 2:00pm

For more information, requirements
and eligibility see our 
FAQs.

Toll-free: 1-888-268-0520
Fax: 613-686-6757
Email: info@nibtrust.ca